Located at the south of the City, near the Isla Santay, this is the market most tourists choose to visit while touring Guayaquil. With more than 750 vendors, the Caraguay Market sells a little of everything but specializes in seafood, especially the famous crabs of Guayaquil. If you aren’t up to cooking your own seafood meal, then consider visiting one of the many small stands selling prepared food where locals can be found chowing down on ceviches, encebollados, and seafood dishes specializing crab.


After being picked up at your hotel, our driver and guide will get you to Guayaquil’s main attractions; please find a brief description of each attraction:

Caraguay Market

Get to see the fisher route, the crab hunter chore and get to try 100% organic and tropical fruits nature from Ecuadorian country. Get to know a little bit of the story of this traditional commercial place and it’s people.

Centenario Park

It was inaugurated in October 9 of 1920, as the pinnacle work of the celebration for the commemoration of the 100 years of Guayaquil’s independence. Its history dates back to the end of the XIX century in 1891, when the Cantonal Council decided to build the column to the national heroes of Guayaquil. On October 9 of 1899 the first stone was placed, and on October 9 of 1920, a century after the independence deed, with a ceremony presided by the President of the Country, Jose Luis Tamayo, the Square was inaugurated.

9 de Octubre Boulevard

The avenue 9 de Octubre crosses the city from east to west, it is born in the hemicycle of the Rotunda that frames the memorial monument to the meeting of Simón Bolívar and José de San Martín (July 26, 1822) in this city, and ends in the bridge June 5.

His nomination is commemorative to the date of the independence of the Province of Guayaquil (1820). It is the most important route – traditionally speaking – of the Pearl of the Pacific. Formerly called San Francisco Street, the Pit, the Court, and the Artillery.

This route makes a kind of union between the two embankments of the city -Simón Bolívar and Salado-; In addition, along this are other tourist spots, such as Vicente Rocafuerte Square, Centennial Park, the Column of the Independents of Independence, Rodolfo Baquerizo Moreno Square, among others.

October 9 is also the point of concentration of large buildings, businesses, shops, banks, which make it very busy during most of the year and at all hours. In addition, it has been the scene of massive political rallies, as well as parades during civic dates.

Seminario Park and its exotic tree Iguanas

The existing park was built in the XIX century, in 1868, which had a huge eight point star, reason why the park was called Plaza de la Estrella (Star Square). In 1889, the equestrian monument to Simon Bolivar was built and the place was renamed as Plaza Bolivar (Bolivar Square). By then, philanthropist Manuel Seminario made an important donation to renovate the park that took the last name of the illustrious citizen.

Also known as Parque de las Iguanas (Iguana Park) for the large population of iguanas in the place, it has a natural charm because of the tress and artificial lagoon in which swim different colored fish.

The iguana is classic specie from Guayaquil and is visible in different areas of the city. According to biologists, they settled in the early days of the city, during the colonial times, because water, mangroves and willow trees surround the city, whose fruits are their favorite food. The parks are filled with their presence due to their proximity to the river and because people did not pursue them, since it is not edible specie in our diet.

Municipal palace

The Municipal Palace was built on the grounds of the old Town Hall that had served as the Colonial Town Council since 1817. On this 38,000 square feet lot (3.600 square meters) some of Guayaquil´s historical events were enacted. In 1820 the Charter of Independence was signed here, although the old Palace had to be burned down when the bubonic plague arrived in 1908.

Several Municipal offices are now housed in this gorgeous building, including the famous City Hall in Renaissance style. The Municipal offices are open from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. but tourists can walk through the Palace and its surrounding areas until later.

A visit to the Municipal Palace is an obligatory stop for every tourist who is eager to learn the essence of Guayaquil. A walk around these historical monuments with their privileged architecture creates a sense of the monumental splendor and the colonial seaport origins of Guayaquil.

Malecon Simon Bolivar (2 miles water front, plazas, monuments, botanical gardens & more)

This urban park, filled with nature, history, tradition and modern beauty is a touristic attraction that has a length of 2,5 kilometers (26 blocks). Visitors can find gardens, artificial lagoons, water fountains, viewpoints, docks, squares and historical monuments like The Rotunda Hemicycle, Moorish Tower, Aurora Gloriosa (Glorious Dawn) and the statue of Olmedo. As well as museums, movie theatres, shopping centers, restaurants, bars, food courts, playgrounds, a crafts market and all of the attractions, services and commodities that a tourist needs to enjoy a tour through the city. It also offers tours through the Guayas River in which the city can be seen from another geographic point, within an imposing natural environment of great beauty.

Neighborhood of Las Peñas (the oldest part of the city)

With more than 400 years old, Las Peñas was the first neighborhood of Guayaquil, which took its name from the cliffs and limestone rocks that formed the Hill back then when the Spanish settled in the XV century. In 1982 the neighborhood was declared Cultural Heritage of Ecuador and between 2002 and 2008, the place was restored and regenerated by the Municipality of Guayaquil.

This neighborhood, born in Colonial times, was destroyed in several occasions by the fires that assailed the city. The fact that the neighborhood was rebuilt in times of the Republic alienated its colonial style.

It has a unique architectonic style and is a spectacular place for being located at the hill and in front of the river, also for its colorful and romantic appearance of narrow and cobbled streets with a bohemian ambiance.

Santa Ana Hill

Santa Ana Hill is the place where Guayaquil was born back in the XVI century, between the decades of 1540 and 1550, when Spanish Diego de Urbina was resettling the city at the foot of the Cerrito Verde or Cerrito de la Culata, which, alongside the Carmen Hill formed an image similar to a saddle, for that the city was called “The saddle city”.

The 60-meter high hill is one of the most important viewpoints of the city that allows the appreciation of the city and its surroundings from a 350-view angle. To the north it can be seen the intersection of the Babahoyo and Daule rivers, which form the Guayas River; to the south: the commercial center of the city; to the east, the Santay Island and Duran; and to the west, the Carmen Hill and the rest of the city. There are binoculars at the viewpoint of the Hill for the tourists.

Santa Ana hill is also a touristic area that can be accessed by the Diego Noboa staircases that are formed by 444 stairs where there are squares, roundabouts, museums, a chapel, a lighthouse, art galleries, craft shops, Internet coffee places, bars and restaurants.


Return to your Hotel



Bilingual guide

Soft drinks and snacks






Meals not mentioned

Additional activities

Alcoholic drinks


Personal purchases

Nothing not mentioned





What to bring?

Bottled water


Light and comfortable clothes


Jacket in case of night

Terms & Conditions

If you cancel at least 10 days in advance of the tour departure, it won’t incur in any cancellation fee. If you cancel between 5 and 9 days in advance of the tour departure, there is a 50% cancellation fee. If you cancel within 4 days of the tour departure, there is a 100% cancellation fee.

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review